Selected Honors and Awards


2008:   Chairman, International Advisory Panel for Weather and Climate, India


2008:   Commissioner, Virginia Governor's Commission on Climate Change


2008:   Fellow, American Geophysical Union (AGU)


2007:   Lead Author, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

            (IPCC shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with Vice President Gore)


2007:   International Meteorological Organization Prize of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

            (Highest honor awarded by the WMO)


2005:   Rossby Medal of the American Meteorological Society (AMS)

            (Highest honor awarded by the AMS)


2004:   Scientist of the year, Association of Indians in America (AIA)


2001:   Walker Gold Medal of the Indian Meteorological Society (IMS)

            (Highest medal of the IMS; first recipient of the medal)


2001:   Joint Scientific Committee of WCRP

            (Highest Committee of the World Climate Research Program)


1999:   Founded Gandhi College for women in a village in India

            (See the article in the New York Times, 17 August 2003)


1996:   Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS, Associate Fellow)


1996:   Fellow, Indian Meteorological Society


1993:   Founded Institute of Global Environment and Society (IGES)



1989:   Helped establish super computer center for monsoon forecasting, New Delhi

            (At the behest of the then Prime Minister, Rajiv Gandhi)


1988:   Started weather and climate program at ICTP, Trieste, Italy

            (At the behest of Dr. Abdus Salam, founder of ICTP)


1986:   Invited to lecture at the Pontifical Academy, Vatican, Italy

            (Audience with Pope John Paul II)


1983:   Founded, Center for Ocean-Land-Atmosphere (COLA)

            (COLA is considered one of the premiere centers in the world for climate research)


1982:   Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal of NASA

            (Highest medal given by NASA to a civilian)


1979:   Chief Scientist, MONEX experiment in the Bay of Bengal

            (Leader of an expedition of three aircrafts and 150 scientists to Calcutta)